Riverhead Raceway
1797 Old Country Road
Riverhead, NY 11901
631.842.RACE (7223)
Email Contact: info@riverheadraceway.com

Enduro Race Program To Conclude 2013
Riverhead Raceway Season Sunday, September 29th
by Bob Finan

The cars and the stars of the Enduro race series at Riverhead Raceway will close out the 2013 campaign at Barbara & Jim Cromarty's historic oval on Sunday afternoon September 29th with a full card of racing being presented. It is one last chance for teams who have gone without a win this year to take home a handsome trophy for their mantle as well some cash in their pocket!

James Charrier of Shirley has been the man to beat in the Grand Enduro ranks this year and he'll look to earn another win as will 2-time winner Greg Zaleski of Jamesport. Other drivers going for the gold will be Bob Engelfried of Stony Brook, Dave Antos of Lindenhurst, Tim Blank of Manorville, Chris Lescenski of Riverhead, Dege Russell of Rocky Point and Phil LaManna of Smithtown.

Greg Harris of Riverhead has won all but one of the 4/6-Cylinder Truck Enduro this season and he'll look to keep his near perfect season in tact Sunday. His father-in-law Robin Vollmoeller of Riverhead has been the only driver to top Harris this season. Joining the family affair will be Don Nelson of Rocky Point, Ben Gregor of Bridgehampton, "Handsome" Hank Hallock of Riverhead, Mariah Lawrence of Southampton and RJ Gage of Riverhead.

The 8-Cylinder drivers will be racing as they have since the first Enduro at Riverhead Raceway in May of 1986, hard and without fear! Anthony Pizzo of Lake Ronkonkoma will lead the class into not one but two Enduro races over the weekend as they also race Saturday night. Ed Brown Jr. of Mastic Beach, Dominick Ranieri of East Northport, Bob Baker of Shirley, Rob "The Racer" McCormick of Calverton and many others will be in action both days of the doubleheader weekend.

Over in the 4/6-Cylinder Car division it has been both a breakout and career year for teenage driver Joe Warren Jr. who has dominated the class winning all but two of the race contested this year. Only Christian Conklin of Flanders and most recently veteran Ed Fontana of Wading River have been able to slow the Warren express. Fontana will be ready for his second win Sunday with the likes of George Davis of Patchogue, Brian Savoy of Lake Panamoka, Jim McCarthy of Bellmore and Steve "The Pitbull" Trimboli will all be seeking their first win of 2013 in the final event of the year.

Pit gates will open at 10:00 am and racing will start at 12:30 pm. In the event the Saturday night program falls to rain the National Demolition Derby Championship would join the Sunday festivities.

For Enduro rules and entry forms please visit www.riverheadraceway.com or
phone 631-842-RACE

Your Business
Could Be Here


All Rights Reserved 2013 RiverheadRaceway.com/RGeePro